Tonight’s Thoughts

Just got back from my ASL I class….

I was a nursing major until recently, I mean really, really, recently…like last week recently. I’m currently a medical assistant who specialized in clinical research. I am a certified clinical research coordinator who, also until recently, was in love with research. I felt so competent, so skilled, so knowledgeable, however, when I started to work for one of Satan’s minions (if not Satan herself) my love for research started dying. I started dreading going to work everyday (not a great feeling). That’s why when I finally decided to quit, it really wasn’t a difficult decision.

Anyway, back to ASL I. I’ve changed my major now to Liberal Arts and will be graduating in December with my AA. I am so proud as I will the first in my immediate family to have a degree. Once I complete my AA I will be pursuing my AS as an Interpreter for the Deaf. What I’ve learned so far has intrigued me so much and has tugged at a special place in my heart leading me to believe that this is what I’m meant to do. Even if it’s not forever what I learn now will stay with me for a life time. I can’t wait to dive into Deaf culture and I look forward to learning as much as I can. If only I had a Deaf friend close by….

Oh well, que sera, sera.

2 thoughts on “Tonight’s Thoughts

  1. Oster's Mom says:

    Congratulations! I, too, was the first family member to receive a college degree. Although difficult to go through the process (no one knew how to help me) I did it!

Leave a Reply

