Rambling Mode

I am a writer; not rich, not famous, not yet known, not well polished, but nonetheless, a writer. I have recently been feverishly reading post after, article after, book after, story about writers and writing. I’ve researched and studied upon their difficulties and successes, their ups and downs and their beginnings.

This is the part that is most difficult for me: beginnings. Well, maybe not entirely. Let me reveal my current situation to you all. I have several stories in my head and I’ve even jotted some parts of these stories down, either in a notebook or saved them on my computer. The problem isn’t really content is it’s the “what’s next part.” I mean if I let my fingers roam free across the keyboard or give them a pencil and paper, there’s no telling how much will be regurgitated on the pages/screen. However, I guess I’m having difficulty with….structuring? I don’t know if that’s the proper terminology but basically I’m having trouble putting my stories together.

I have a couple of theories on why this is, but not entirely sure if any of these are the real dilemma. Could it be that I don’t allow for enough quiet moments in my life to allow for the creative juices to flow? Could it be that I wasn’t meant to be a writer despite the urge I have to write at times that is so strong it makes my eyes pop open around 6am or keeps my eyes open well into the night with thoughts, themes and plots? Or could it just be that I’m over analyzing it all and I should just start writing?!!? I don’t know but I’ve always believed that we all have the answers to our questions already engrained in us. Most of us are just too busy or too doubtful of those answers and swear that we have to hear it from somewhere/someone else.

With that out-of-the-way, I’m going to go listen to myself and just start writing and worry about the pitfalls later. Thanks again for reading and by the way, although I already have the answer, I wouldn’t mind any suggestions anyone out in the writing world may have. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Rambling Mode

  1. Oster's Mom says:

    I know the feeling. I finally wrote a post after 2 weeks of not writing anything. Life does get in the way sometimes. And that’s okay…as long as you pick yourself up and keep on truckin’

    Doodle Dad posted a great video about ways to stay creative: http://doodledad.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/29-ways-to-stay-creative/

    It’s pretty inspiring and entertaining to watch.

Leave a Reply

