The Art of Non-Conformity

Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want and Change the WorldThis is my short review on Chris Guillebeau’s The Art of Non-Conformity: Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want and Change the World.

This is the 1st of 2 books written by Chris Guillebeau. Some time back in May I read Tim Ferriss’s The 4-Hour Workweek and fell in love. Absolutely could not put it down. Shortly after that I signed up for Tim’s blog and have been reading as many articles as possible. So one day there was an article titled: Six-Figure Businesses Built for Less Than $100: 17 Lessons Learned

This article was describing how many different people had created lucrative businesses for less than $100. These  stories came from Chris Guillebeau’s book titled The $100 Startup.

There’s actually a little story I’d like to share about that book first. When I first read the article on Tim’s blog I was hooked. I mean H-O-O-K-E-D, hooked. I called every library in the neighborhood but no one had it, however, being that every librarian was having difficulty finding it (due to the title, lots of them weren’t sure whether they were looking for $100, One Hundred Dollar, The… etc), one brilliant librarian looked it up on Amazon and found the right spelling. She then said, “Hmm, looks like this book just came out a few days ago so the library probably won’t have it for a while.”

I don’t know why but that really shocked me. I thought, “Wow! Look at the pull Tim Ferriss has,” because I’m sure I wasn’t the only one dying to have that book after that blog post. Anyway, I had my mind set on getting that book so the kids and I searched for the nearest book store (which by the way, was 25 miles away) and started our quest. As I had suspected the book was extremely popular. When I requested the book from the cashier she looked it up and said that there was one left.

So you should have seen it; the kids and I were scouring the bookshelves looking for this thing. Then I got an idea, I told the kids, “The first one who finds it gets the first hundred dollars I make from it.” Oh it was on, they had their eyes peeled. I had to show my little one a picture of the book because he can’t read yet. So after about half an hour guess who finds it?…..Me! Phew!

After all of the commotion and the disappointed sighs I finally had the book and couldn’t wait to start reading it. Went home read it in about 2 days. It was a very good book, extremely informative. Have I started my business yet? No, but I believe the book has a lot of great information and resources in it.

So sorry about all of that but I always try to give some background to my reviews/stories, a lot of people hate it but guess what? That’s just me and I love me 🙂

As for The Art of Non-Conformity, I think it was also a great book, however, I can see improvements in his new book (which is a good thing). This book was actually pretty groovy (I’m not as old as you think), he chronicles his early life in where he lived in Africa for 4 years volunteering in a part of the country that was torn apart by war. He also went into detail about how he was able to  start small businesses that didn’t quite make him rich but allowed him to pay his bills and get by. He was very adamant about his love of traveling. I believe this is what fueled his desire to start a business in where he can be anywhere in the world and still run it.

I am not too interested in traveling the world at this time because of the added stress I believe it would cause me to take 4 kids, a dog, a cat and a fish on a big family trip. Once the kids are grown and gone, they may barely get to see me with all the traveling I will be doing! 😉 But for now I’m doing my best to find the means to be able to take care of the minimal things. I want to find ways to be able to bring in an income to just be able to pay the bills until my business gets off of the ground. I tried tweeting him to see if I can get any helpful hints straight from the source.

I’ve also been focusing on trying to find like-minded people or people who have had similar experiences to mine so that we could maybe bounce ideas off of each other and get a great thing going here.

Any struggling single mom’s out there making it big?

By the way, anyone interested in reading up on Chris Guillebeau and for free resources, check out ChrisGuillebeau.com

Leave a Reply

