Commercials

Some commercials are really good but others....ehThis post is really just going to be a random one. It’s something that I’ve thought about for years and I think Shrek’s saying, “better out than in” fits the description of me wanting to get this thought out of my head.

I don’t currently have or want to have cable so I haven’t really had much of an opportunity to watch any TV, let alone any commercials. However, and I don’t know why this is, during the reading rampage that I was on yesterday while I had the day to myself, my typical thoughts about commercials started rolling around in my head.

What am I talking about, you ask? Well I know there are some really, really gut bustingly funny commercials out there that really get the point across and make people run out of their houses screaming to find the first place that sells whatever they just saw advertised.

On the other hand, have you ever watched a commercial that was so ridiculously off topic that at the end you still had no idea what they were selling?

Well the thought that always crosses my mind is this; first off I picture this long desk with about 8-10 people trying to pitch their ad ideas to the bigwigs. Then I think about all of the time that these creative geniuses took just to make it as far as that long table. Lastly, I think of the moment when this sub-par commercial was finally chosen. Did everyone else get fired? I mean if that’s the best they got then everyone else was slacking 110%.

Ok, well I guess my rant is over. This is just a glimpse of the weird stuff that’s been sitting in the old dusty crates of my mind. Sorry if this sounded like a somewhat cynical post.  I promise I don’t mean it to be (told ya it just had to vacate my mind). I know that it probably takes a lot of time and a huge vat of creative juice (I soooo need of gallon of that right now) to generate a great commercial out of thin air so I apologize in advance to anyone in that field (sorry).

By the way, I hope everyone has a happy, happy Monday!

3 thoughts on “Commercials

  1. Hey, just wanted to say I thought you have an amazing blog! So much so that I nominated you for this award!

    http://introspectionsduringquiettime.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/award-2-the-very-inspiring-blogger/

  2. bronxboy55 says:

    I no longer watch much television, but when I do I’m amazed at the number of commercials. And yes, very often I have no idea what they’re trying to sell.

Leave a Reply

